Tokyo Tech News

Academic Cooperation Agreement Concluded with University of Minnesota


Published: May 8, 2013

The University of Minnesota and Tokyo Tech entered into a formal partner university relationship for academic cooperation in April 2013. The Institute has university-wide academic cooperation agreements with 96 institutions in 26 countries/regions for the purpose of promoting international exchanges for research and study.

Tokyo Tech President Yoshinao Mishima signed an academic cooperation agreement with the University of Minnesota on April 23, 2013 in Minneapolis. President Eric Kaler of the University of Minnesota and President Mishima delivered congratulatory speeches at the signing ceremony which was attended by Associate Vice President and Dean Meredith McQuaid and two Tokyo Tech professors. The ceremony was also attended by three University of Minnesota students, past and future participants in Tokyo Tech's TiROP Summer Program (see below).

The University of Minnesota is a participating university in the Tokyo Tech International Research Opportunities Program (TiROP). TiROP is one of two initiatives under the Tokyo Institute of Technology International Education and Research (TIER) Program launched last year with a grant awarded by the Ministry of Education, Culture, Sports, Science and Technology in its Re-Inventing Japan Project.

Additionally, the University of Minnesota is a participating university in the Summer Exchange Research Program (SERP) of the Graduate School of Engineering and the School of Engineering.

It is expected that the agreement will further exchanges between the University of Minnesota and Tokyo Tech.

Related Links

Tokyo Tech's international agreements for academic exchange

University-wide Agreements

EUROPE Belgium Ghent University
Denmark University of Copenhagen
Technical University of Denmark
Finland Aalto University
Lappeenranta University of Technology
Farnce Paris Tech
Université de Strasbourg
University of Rennes 1
Germany Leibniz Universität Hannover
Rheinisch-Westfälische Technische Hochschule Aachen
Technische Universität München
Technische Universität Berlin
Universität Stuttgart
Netherlands Delft University of Technology
Italy Politecnico di Milano
The University of Rome "La Sapienza"
University of Bologna
Norway Norwegian University of Science & Technology
Sweden Chalmers University of Technology
Linköping University
Royal Institute of Technology (KTH)
Switzerland Ecole Polytechnique Federale de Lausanne (EPFL)
Swiss Federal Institute of Technology, Zurich (ETH)
University of Zurich
United Kingdom Churchill College, University of Cambridge
University of Durham
University of Strathclyde
Asia China Beijing Institute of Technology
Dalian University of Technology
Harbin Institute of Technology
Shanghai Jiao Tong University
The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology
Tianjin University
Tongji University
Tsinghua University
University of Science and Technology of China
Xi´an Jiaotong University
Zhejiang University
Indonesia Bandung Institute of Technology
Universitas Gadjah Mada
Universitas Indonesia
Korea Hanyang University
Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology (KAIST)
Korea Institute of Science and Technology (KIST)
Korea University
Kyungpook National University
Pohang University of Science and Technology
Seoul National University
Sungkyunkwan University
Yonsei University
Mongolia Mongolian University of Science and Technology
National University of Mongolia
Philippines De La Salle University
University of the Philippines
University of the Philippines, Diliman
Singapore Nanyang Technological University
National University of Singapore
Taiwan National Central University
National Cheng Kung University
National Chiao Tung University
National Taiwan University
National Tsing Hua University
Thailand Asian Institute of Technology
Chulalongkorn University
Kasetsart University
King Mongkut´s Institute of Technology Ladkrabang
King Mongkut´s University of Technology North Bangkok
King Mongkut´s University of Technology Thonburi
National Science and Technology Development Agency (NSTDA)
TAIST- Tokyo Tech
Thammasat University
Vietnam Hanoi University of Science and Technology
Ho Chi Minh City University of Technology
Vietnam National University, Hanoi, University of Science
The Middle East Iran Sharif University of Technology
Turkey Middle East Technical University
Boğaziçi University
Istanbul Technical University
Oceania Australia The University of Melbourne
North and South America Brazil Universidade de São Paulo
Canada University of British Columbia
University of Waterloo
United States Georgia Institute of Technology
University of California, Berkeley
University of Minnesota
University of Washington


TIER is one of several of Tokyo Tech's flagship initiatives to cultivate global techno-scientific leaders through the establishment of a cooperative network of world-class research universities. TiROP, one of the two initiatives under TIER, provides talented undergraduate and graduate students of the participating sixteen leading science and technology universities in Asia, Europe and the US with opportunities to conduct short-term research projects under the supervision of a host professor and take courses for up to one year.