Tokyo Tech News

Three Tokyo Tech teams qualify for ICPC2019 Asia regionals


Published: October 16, 2019

The Japan qualifications for the 2019 International Collegiate Programming Contest (ICPC) were held on July 12, and three Tokyo Tech teams booked their place in the Asian regional competition in mid-November.

Three Tokyo Tech teams qualify for ACM-ICPC2019 Asia regionals

A total of 495 teams from 101 universities, junior colleges, and technical high schools around the country tested their skills during the three-hour qualification round. Of the 46 top teams that received special awards from the ICPC Board, five were from Tokyo Tech. Team eiyatonari, Team mickytheta, and Team unlimited greedy will feature in the Asia regionals.

This year — in addition to Yokohama — Singapore, Jakarta, Bangkok, Kuala Lumpur, Seoul, Taipei, Da Nang, Manila, and Yangon will also host regional competitions.

Prestigious contest sponsored by ICPC Foundation

ICPC, held under the auspices of the ICPC Foundation, is one of the oldest, largest, and most prestigious programming contests in the world. In 2018, over 52,000 contestants from 3,233 universities in 110 countries and regions competed in regional competitions in an attempt to reach the finals.

The contest involves three members from each university trying to solve eight or more complex, real-world problems within a five-hour deadline. Only one computer is available for each team, highlighting the importance of effective teamwork over individual programming skills. The team that solves the most problems in the fewest attempts in the least amount of time is the winner.

Teams that qualified for Asia regionals

Team eiyatonari (11th overall)

Team eiyatonari

Recipients of Qualification Round Award and Retrieva Award

Riki Fukunari, 1st-year master's student, Information and Communications Engineering

Takuto Yoshida, 3rd year, Computer Science

Ryoji Nagata, 2nd year, Computer Science

Team mickytheta (17th overall)

Team mickytheta (17th overall)

Mikito Ota, 4th year, Computer Science

Ryotaro Kasuga, 4th year, Computer Science

Mikito Matsuura, 2nd year, Computer Science

Team unlimited greedy (18th overall)

Team unlimited greedy (18th overall)

Shinji Yoshino, 1st-year master's student, Mathematical and Computing Science

Linsho Kaku, 1st-year master's student, Computer Science

Koya Endo, 3rd year, Mathematical and Computing Science

Other commended teams

Team Poyashi (28th overall)

Recipients of Amatsubame Award

Yasunori Kinoshita, 1st year, School of Computing

Akihiro Omori, 1st year, School of Computing

Riku Kishida, 1st year, School of Computing

Team MIYAJIMA PONYAKO (38th overall)

Mizuki Shirai, 2nd year, Computer Science

Shunta Shiba, 3rd year, Computer Science

Yu Terauchi, 4th year, Information and Communications Engineering


Shin-ya Nishizaki

Professor, Global Scientific Information and Computing Center